In My Pocket

I had hope in my pocket
And a song on my lips
There was warmth in my smile
And a swing in my hips
Life looking sunny
Dreams tumbling out
Nothing to trip me
But doubt

There’s a hole in my pocket
And my tune isn’t sweet
My face becomes frozen
Solid stone are my feet
Day sudden darkens
Nightmare arrives
Nothing to save me
That’s lies

I have fists in my pocket
And my jaw is firm set
Depression you stalk me
But I’m not beaten yet
Life isn’t easy
Some days are rough
Under this soft skin
I’m tough

There’s your hand in my pocket
And my heart sings so loud
I dance along rainbows
And stand out from the crowd
Love isn’t magic
Problems to share
Bu when I need help
It’s there

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

