Hate

You must have been so angry
To smack me in my face
Just sixteen and keen to dance
I went home in disgrace

One evening on the night bus
My friends lived closer in
You hit me hard upon my head
I felt I was a sin

Was rushing late for work when
You stopped me in the street
You spat directly in my face
I felt so small and weak

When walking to my home once
You shouted words I fear
I took the shame and held it close
A stupid little queer

Internal hate is not good
I looked inside myself
I found the fear that paralysed
Reclaimed my mental health

Forgive each one of you as
I’m all right now mate
I hope you learn to love yourself
Cos it’s not me you hate

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

