Spark

My friend you are so dear to me I feel
Your gaze that fans the flame within my heart
So why then is that I’m soon to leave
Create a place where we will be apart
Must I destroy the things that seem too safe
To only feel alive when on the edge
Or is it that because the love you give
Enables me to step off from the ledge
The conflict in my soul might endless burn
And time may never come when I know peace
Perhaps my restless flame will light your path
Eternal means that love will never cease
But fire is best admired from afar
For every spark aspires to be a star

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

