War and Peace

My mother was a war child
She slept beneath the stair
Her father went away to fight
He couldn’t hold her there

But when the war was over
A new beginning dawned
For Europe made a lasting pact
Community was formed

I am a European.
I live in peaceful lands
I live and travel where I wish
My future’s in safe hands

And yes it costs us money
I won’t deny the fact
We have so much that we can share
We can afford the pact

About this referendum
I’m voting to remain
Instead of thinking what we lose
Just think what we have gained

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

