Another Man

A man I love belongs elsewhere and yet
He looks into my eyes and holds my hand
Another man is his by rights and I
Have found this love exists in no man’s land
And being other quite unseen but he
Will look at me as if there are unknown
The depths in which we drown ecstatic lie
A side of him he says elsewhere unshown
Declares I know him but the man I know
Will leave his home to taste the fruit forbade
Uncomfortable the truth that we construct
But it’s my bed and this is how it’s made
My love it isn’t sweet or good but you
Have compromised the same way that I do

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

