Cinder

And being there with you I shone like star
I felt the world somewhere beneath my feet
You plastered cracks but made me feel complete
And I forgot to ask you who you are

Like every protege my days were few
And when my light you dimmed alone in dark
You want no more than walking in the park
Impossible to lean on that was you

The taste of honey sour on my tongue
That love was saccharine not starlight sweet
I hungered and you let me sit and eat
And sickening made me no longer young

Older now I want to say to you
Why take the youthful zest with no return
Your heart not star but furnace and you burn
Till hope’s a cindered spark leaving a flue

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

