Done

Tomorrow is the gift I didn’t give you yesterday
I meant to but you know how time just seems to disappear
So here it is just take it and tomorrow will be yours
I hope that you enjoy it without me for I am gone
An us that seemed so permanent was lost within the dust
You reached and found desire was somehow missing from your bed
And being lonely you found comfort in another’s gift
No need to stay we both found it so easy to move on
I loved you once and know that I have seen real love from you
But hearts aren’t carved from stone and you and I are shifting sand
The desert of our heart became oasis when apart
And when I see you I still think I’ve neither lost nor won
Tomorrow we two travellers who’ve suffered in the sun
Will separate the shaded calm and know that we are done

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

