Reach

I reach across divide to touch your heart
Recoil from me as if I carry plague
You have it seems a phobia of kind
The cry for help is kept distinctly vague
I reach again more gentle by your side
The shrug a reflex damage people learn
Insouciance so studied lack the care
You feel that trust is something you can spurn
I reach the point where friends suggest defeat
My soft expression target for your lies
And then you whip your tongue across my face
The vitriol an effluent surprise
I reach within I’m human and humane
The softest cushion best absorbs the pain

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

