Pearl

A deconstruct of imposed role to be self synthesised
And being neither float upon the bed that I create
So fluid in my early life but then the river dried
My own damnation stopped the flow I made my life stagnate
I see you look askance at me a superficial male
Exterior so calloused that I can appear rough
But deep within identity more complex than a tail
Protection of the pearl inside has made this oyster tough
A man but not on my own terms I ended up without
In exile I grew thirsty but from irrigation know
The clouds within the mind produce the rain relieving drought
I’ll lubricate my mind until my thoughts begin to flow
I can refuse a gender and I now define my role
The pearl imperfect round that irritates the square peg hole

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

