Moment

I knew that I was leaving but we met
I gave my heart and now I am without
The afternoon so easily was lost
In smiles that left my eyes without a doubt
My first impression beauty made as a man
Inspection closer to confirmed my thought
But intellect behind that gentle smile
A man who knows what matters can’t be bought
The moment that we stole away from time
Subtraction like the leaving set in stone
But so much joy was added to my heart
The one I’ve left and now no longer own
Perfection can’t be measured or designed
Sometimes it’s just a moment of our time

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

