Fifty

The day I caught a glimpse of you no nonsense would you brook
The mystery of my history laying open like a book
The leading questions juxtaposed the holes revealed in plot
The frank and gentle care you showed untied a troubled knot
My inside out was pulled by you exposed my deepest dark
The secrets kept so furtively like gunpowder from spark
For years they festered far from light but always on my mind
They placed my dreams in semi shade so subtly malign
You showed me there’s no need for shame in anything I do
And finding no one sought to blame decided it was true
At fifty found I like the sun the clouding doubt has passed
Reflection in the bluest eyes the skies are clear at last

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

