Arise

So much I never thought that I would see
Bizarre the rocks that hide around the bend
No longer wish that you were here with me
And what we had had never had to end
That easy we and us now only I
My joy was just a myth you built on lies
Though when you left I thought that I would die
Not knowing that a phoenix lived inside
Arise I said and pulling self to shape
I took my life and now the nest is flown
I had so much but then one day the break
That wind beneath your wings is mine to own
Survivor on the rocks I journey on
The future lies before the past is gone

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

