Colour 

The world cascaded colour as my heart it jumped the beat
Emotion was in flood and beauty rained into my eyes
And there on the horizon almost hazy in my heat
Mirage that I created from some optimistic lies
The monochrome that hit me was relentless in its doom
Enveloped in the fifty swirling shades of endless mist
In silence I was exiled to an all pervasive gloom
My heart was stone and tumbled down a deep and soundless rift
You punished me because I tried to love where eagles dare
Sadistic like a mantis preying how my senses reel
Consumed alive my hopes and dreams you left me without care
Because you doubt you’re worthy of the way you made me feel
Depressed but parting clouds reveal the silver blue of sky
Resiliently colourful my heart again will try

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

