Queers 

The lesbians I knew when young are all so middle aged
Responsible and purposeful with families and homes
Remember how they ranted and were often so outraged
The property that once was theft so comfortably they own
The gay men that I knew when young so many disappeared
The viruses inside have felled a swathe of lovely men
My future though is not as bleak as I had often feared
For medication seems to have improved our lives since then
Our youth was an amazing time I’m glad I played a part
The politics and dancing seemed to happily collide
The anger and the sadness seemed to age my tender heart
But when we marched we did it with such love and so much pride
We fought we loved we won we lost we felt like pioneers
The friends and lovers I knew then a band of happy queers

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

