Floods

The thoughts of you come flooding unannounced
I did not bid them at my feet to lap
The death of love so long ago pronounced
In leaving I’d assumed no coming back
Your happy smile once said all will be fine
So sanguine when I felt like I would drown
I can’t believe that you’re no longer mine
You’re oh so easy just to be around
The water under bridge has flowed away
Can love be born again from arid stream
Regret is like a perfect storm each day
And yet you come to me as hope and dream
So come to me my heart is in a flood
And be the man who saves me be my blood

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

