The wall 

External nothing more than a veneer
The outside no projection from within
And if you really wanted to be here
You’d find a way to get under my skin
Indifference it can hurt as much as spite
We all make time for things that we hold dear
You’ve made me feel a burden not delight
And even as I leave you won’t draw near
Avoiding contact look what you’ve become
A stranger who no longer is a friend
Your company a prize that wasn’t won
So all that I can offer is an end
So here I am I’ve come to say goodbye
But you can’t see the wall you built so high

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

