Cost

I saw you come as I walking out
The lateness of your smile a parting gift
I waited till my mind was full of doubt
The disappointment difficult to shift
Apology is all we ever do
The synching of our lives is always out
And all I want is sitting here with you
But I am always sitting here without
I realise your time is a resource
But busy is a choice I never make
The issue isn’t one I want to force
I wonder if you know that love’s at stake
For every opportunity has cost
I hope I won’t be something that was lost

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

