Remember

Remember how I wrote for you
I filled my empty page with word
Remember how you spoke untrue
I listened but was never heard
Remember when you had no time
Your life so full you couldn’t think
Remember when I lost my rhyme
You bruised my heart my blood was ink
Remember then I let you be
A year was just a waste of time
Remember that you didn’t see
Not being yours made you not mine
Remember as the year will close
The all you had and gave away
Remember all the others those
Who wanted to but couldn’t stay
Remember sixteen all you were
To seventeen I now defer

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

