Open Books

Six fifteen and here I am
About to start the day
So many things I have to do
So much I want to say
My students happily arrive
Each mind an open book
I hope to bring new worlds alive
Inviting them to look
And if I change a life or two
By teaching love and care
I’ve done as much as I can do
For all I have I share
And in my class I might perceive
The future in a face
I hope my children can believe
The world’s a happy place
A teacher is a bridge to link
Tomorrow paves the way
And future leaders sit and think
In classes taught today

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

