The Devil’s Inn

Offhandedly he cut me to the bone
Blasé he didn’t even know the knife was in his grip
And here I am a man who feels alone
So stupidly I thought that he was coming on my trip
The arrogance of youth it isn’t meant
They go about oblivious to havoc they create
He never knew that he was heaven sent
So dropped me off at hell and then I entered through the gate
The reservation mentioned there were two
As lucifer’s receptionist gave me a knowing look
He smiled and then he said so now it’s you
I felt as if my broken heart was opened like a book
So here I am in purgatory and you
I’ve no idea the place you go and all the things you do

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

