To hold

When everything is new I just need something I can hold
The sands are shifting keeping me unsteady on my feet
My life is an adventure like a rug it will unfold
A flying carpet’s magic but the ground would be a treat
And I could change my way and just return to life before
The safety belt routine it has its pluses don’t you know
The nine to five the office nothing less and never more
The life I had was good but now I’ve places I must go
So I will struggle on I think it’s worth it in the end
To conquer situations that I never thought I’d see
And if I ever come back home I hope that you my friend
Will see that though I’m different I’m a different kind of me
For I had never dreamed that I would ever get so far
And when I need a hand to hold I think of where you are

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

