Hug, With Caution

The drain of your emotion seems to leave me less than whole
The fear I can’t assuage the grief another human feels
Your loneliness and heartache seem to permeate my soul
I start and stop and flounder indecision at my heels
So private and so rapt within the world I fabricate
My hesitation hints at things I don’t wish to reveal
I shouldn’t trust the sense that I cannot alleviate
Could I possess the special powers to make your hurting heal
My caution is so tangible when you reach out for me
Imprisoned I would hide behind my own hermetic seal
Reality it overwhelms and I can often be
Unable to communicate the way you make me feel
I’ll hold you in my arms a while until you feel quite safe
And if that works we both will find our world’s a better place

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

