Who

And if you could be anybody else
I wonder who you would decide to be
The world of full of others than the self
The choice is rather broad you must agree
A Nobel Prize for literature or peace
Celebrity in glossy magazine
A prisoner of conscience on release
Or supermodel on the catwalk seen
I’d like to be both bold and beautiful
Mandela and Beyoncé intertwined
Perhaps it would be far more meaningful
To be just who I am and try to find
Within myself I wonder could I be
A person someone else would want to be

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

