If

If all the world’s a stage why can’t I hear applauding crowd
Ridiculous the farce of life confess I’ve lost the plot
The silence is quite deafening and it is not allowed
To bring the velvet curtain down and dark the lighted spot
The audience are restless how they wanted something more
Another show is where they’ll go now appetite is whet
The pound of flesh I offered lies unwanted on the floor
My labour was unloved and lost in tears of blood and sweat
The what to be and not to be I’ve yet to understand
The Ides of March are brutal so please put away your blade
The tide is coming in and I am sinking in the sand
My character is flawed and this is how my life is played
If all the world’s a stage I wish that I could sing and dance
But life has no rehearsal so I had to take a chance

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

