As One

I’ll never let you go he said and dropped me at my door
A friend, a lover, he who made the sunlight shine so bright
The all I ever wanted, I could ask for nothing more
Ours days were full of laughter and he held me through the night.

I’ll never let you go he said and dropped out of my sight
Another man is basking in the wonder of his smile
I lie in bed and think of what they’re doing in the night
My torture never ending how I can myself revile

I’ll never let you go he shouted walking in my home
The life I have rebuilt about to shatter like a glass
The lover’s promise now a threat to chill me to the bone
He thinks I’m a possession and he owns my pretty ass.

I’ll never let him get away with all that he has done
For I am strong and I have learned to live my life as one.

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

