Left

I saw a man the other day he glanced and left a smile
My life it didn’t change but deep inside I felt his look
He sat with friends I sat with mine and time away was whiled
And when he left I felt that he had read me like a book
My heart it raged and wondered how he could just walk away
My mind it reasoned how we couldn’t start a thing right there
But after leaving he looked back the words he didn’t say
A fluent declaration was left hanging in the air
So when we meet again I’ll ask him if we’ve met before
An opening, a start, a chance for us to somehow build
I hope he’s clever, kind and good and ever so much more
I have a dream and wonder if it now could be fulfilled
We’ll talk and hopefully that’s where  our  journey will begin
And this time when our friends have gone I will be left him

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

