The Rainbow


My family is all around the world
The rainbow is how we identify
The L G B and T flag is unfurled
I see it and it makes me want to cry
For freedom isn’t shared in equal parts
In places they would kill someone like me
I look at Russia and it breaks my heart
That people aren’t allowed to simply be
But I’m a human just the same as you
A brain, a heart, a life that’s mine to live
So why do others judge the things I do
My life it isn’t theirs to take or give
I hope one day that every one will see
The rainbow signifying liberty

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

