Back Yard

They key to happiness is in your own back yard to seek
But here I am so far away and feeling quite content
Perhaps the truth is each of us is totally unique
And one idea of happiness is not what others meant
My happiness I know is just for me to think about
Although I feign an interest in what others have to say
Suppose my own solution just ensures I have no doubt
I’ve always been particular preferring my own way
So I would say the key for me is keeping my life plain
Not many plans or grand designs to cause undue distress
I live each day without the future looming in the main
And when there’s only me is when my life is at its best
In solitude I travel never lonely just alone
The traveller with no back yard who’s made the world his home

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

