In A Fix

I was once a man like you devoid of woe and care
Life has worn me down and now I almost never where
Lights are shining, life is lived, I let it pass me by
Hiding in the dark my only want is getting high
Junkies are created from mistakes we all might make
Judge me if you like but I have nothing much at stake
Loss is just a luxury I’ve nothing left to give
Scum upon the earth and I do not deserve to live
I was once somebody’s son a mother’s pride and joy
Half a man but once I was a sweet and happy boy
Now I am the son and heir of half a gram of junk
Floated in nirvana when I woke I had been sunk
Steal the shirt from off your back and sell the family jewels
When you’ve hit the bottom you don’t live by little rules
Don’t you understand that I can play so many tricks
Why because I sell my soul to get another fix

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

