Snakebites

So solitary youth a sulky snake that’s in the grass
The hidden pain concealed like acne scarred upon the cheek
A right of passage out to anywhere but here and now
Annoyingly its time withholding answers that we seek
A skulking mess of hormones in the sheets upon the bed
The energy for up and out it has already left
Another day of social hell where no one is a friend
At seventeen so poised for life yet totally bereft
If I could have my youth again I know I would decline
The biting angst of growing pains still gnaw me in the night
The wrongs I thought I’d write about still trapped within my mind
So angry in the dark that much has never seen the light
They say that youth is wasted but I think mine was endured
And even as I age I feel I’m not yet truly cured

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

