To Have and to Hold

Unbearable the tightness when you're lying next to me
You strangle my desire with the pledges you demand
A prisoner, your love is locked and I don't have the key
My freedom like my fate was somehow placed within your hand
Unbearable the burden yet I hold my head up high
Remembering that I was proud and noble once, before
Your shackles cannot stop my heart from dancing, do not try
My mind is free no matter how you lock and bar the door
Unbearable that you believe your love for me is strong
It's jealousy and hatred staring back when I see you
You want me disempowered but you know that this is wrong
And no man is not entitled to enjoy the things you do
My home is now a gaol and the sentence given life
But you can't own another even if you call her wife

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

