Serpent

The promise of the fruit I've yet to taste
Temptation knows it hangs beyond my reach
And when it's ripe I'd savour without haste
For Eve an apple, I would take the peach
Perfection I can see you from afar
Yet I will never clamber up the tree
For all I want is to be where you are
But it's unlikely you will fall for me
Forbidden fruit so easy to desire
Reality is made of rougher skin
So I pretend my plane is flying higher
My thought as deed would no doubt be a sin
When Eden's bounty falls upon the earth
The serpent knows my honour and its worth

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

