Words

I'll have a proper gander
At all the lies you scrawl
But when I read I feel like
My back's against the wall
The vitriolic hatred
Your page's dripping blood
But I am not some sheep who's
Just chewing on your cud
My poetry's attrition
This war is thought and word
I rhyme out my frustration
My protest will be heard
Semantics are important
I think therefore I am
My word expresses reason
And this is what I plan
I will not stand aside when
This bigotry and fear
Are used to stop the right to
Be questioning or queer
Pan or Intersexual
Two spirited or A
This is not the seventies
We're now much more than gay
I may just be poet
I'm not a man of deed
But sometimes thought and words are
Exactly what you need
So LGB and T folk
Please rally to the call
Embrace the disenfranchised
Equality for all

Author: thepoetautist

A Gay poet of fifty odd years who is currently living in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

